A copy of this work was available on the public web and has been preserved in the Wayback Machine. The capture dates from 2021; you can also visit the original URL.
The file type is
Virginia law states that any motorist pulled over for driving 20 miles per hour (mph) or more over the speed limit or driving in excess of 80 mph at any speed limit (or 85 mph as of July 2020) is eligible for a reckless driving citation, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor violation. However, both law enforcement officers and the courts can use discretion to reduce the misdemeanor charge to a simple traffic infraction. In this report, we use data on speeding violations in 18 Virginia counties over adoi:10.7249/rra1317-1 fatcat:wnkupje6zne4dmq3keel3al3ru