Commission 41: History Of Astronomy (A Joint Iau-Iuhps Commission): (Histoire De L'Astronomie)

Steven J. Dick, F. R. Stephenson, S. M. R. Ansari, Wolfgang Dick, Alex Gurshtein, II. S. Nha, Wayne Orchiston, Edoardo Proverbio, Woodruff T. Sullivan, Xi Zezong
2000 Transactions of the International Astronomical Union  
The membership of the Commission, as of its 50th anniversary in 1998, stands at 146 members and 19 consultants. In order to increase communications, during the report period the President issued six Newsletters to Commission members, consultants, and IAU officers. In a further attempt to increase communications, Commission 41 also instituted a web site ( in early 1998. This was largely due to the efforts of C41 Organizing Committee member
more » ... ittee member Wolfgang Dick and the kindness of Professor Peter Brosche in supplying space. The site not only contains the Newsletters, meeting notices, and a list of members, but also the Bibliography on History of Astronomy, compiled by Ruth Preitag of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The site also links to the history of astronomy site maintained for several years by the History of Astronomy Working Group of the Astronomische Gesellschaft, and now also maintained on behalf of Commission 41. These sites serve not only for better communication among Commission members, but also the broader history of astronomy community.
doi:10.1017/s0251107x00003436 fatcat:v36m2hyznfh7xfgitilsdif6vy