Proposal of a new serovar and altered nomenclature for Haemophilus paragallinarum in the Kume hemagglutinin scheme

P J Blackall, L E Eaves, D G Rogers
1990 Journal of Clinical Microbiology  
By using the Kume hemagglutinin serotyping scheme, 13 Australian isolates of Haemophilus paragallinarum were shown to constitute a new serovar within the presently termed serogroup Il. Because of the likelihood that new serovars will continue to be established, we propose a rationalization of the nomenclature of the Kume scheme. Under this altered scheme, the three recognized serogroups T, II, and III are renamed A, C, and B, respectively. Within each of the serogroups, the serovars are
more » ... erovars are numbered sequentially, allowing new serovars to be added in numerical order. Thus, the nine currently recognized Kume serovars are termed A-1, A-2, A-3,
doi:10.1128/jcm.28.6.1185-1187.1990 fatcat:4n2ekhk6knej3khck4wiz23guq