A Great Game in Greater Central Asia

M. H. Glantz
2019 Problemy Postsovetskogo Prostranstva  
The region historically referred to as Soviet Central Asia includes the 5 Central Asian Republics (CARs) of the Former Soviet Union (FSU): Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan. Their political status changed drastically when the Soviet Union collapsed in 1991 and they became independent republics. Since the early 1990s, Central Asian leaders have referred on occasion to neighboring Afghanistan as the sixth CAR. In fact, it does occupy 14% of the Aral Sea Basin and its
more » ... mountains supply about 15% of streamflow to the region's mighty Amu Darya River that used to flow into Central Asia's Aral Sea.
doi:10.24975/2313-8920-2019-6-3-238-243 fatcat:ko4qszxinjdvbkgmgumxro5k2u